Withdrawal Agreement Vote Time

  ·  Nezařazené  ·  Comments are off for this post.

Nacházíte se:Withdrawal Agreement Vote Time

The withdrawal law, which aims to implement the Prime Minister`s Brexit deal with the EU in October, was presented in the Queen`s Speech on Thursday, which set out the government`s priorities for next year. On 27 February 2019, the House of Commons passed a amendable motion: „Let this House take note of the Prime Minister`s statement on the withdrawal from the European Union on 26 February 2019; also notes that discussions between the UK and the EU are ongoing. All the proposed amendments to the amendment were rejected. The proposal itself was then rejected with a 303-259 lead, in part because of the abstentions of the Conservative research group, which objected to the demand appearing to exclude an EU exit without a withdrawal agreement. [88] On the 18th Lord Hailsham`s amendment was adopted by the Lords, a defeat for the government by 354 votes to 235: a majority of 119[59] [60] After ratification by the British Parliament was concluded today with the royal approval of the European Union Withdrawal Agreement Act (withdrawal agreement), MEMBERS of the Constitutional Affairs Committee voted 23 in favour , three votes against and no abstentions in favour of a positive recommendation on the withdrawal agreement between the EU and the UK. The three Labour MPs who voted for the deal were Ian Austin, Kevin Barron and John Mann. The three independent MPs who voted for the deal were Lady Hermon (independent), Frank Field (labour mp) and Stephen Lloyd (liberal Democrat). The five independent MPs who voted against the deal were John Woodcock, Jared O`Mara, Kelvin Hopkins, Ivan Lewis and Fiona Onasanya, all Elected Labour. [77] He highlighted the commitments that the Prime Minister had withdrawn from the law since MPs voted on the agreement in the last Parliament in October. These include promises on workers` rights, Parliament`s role in the review of future trade negotiations and the protection of refugee children. Nandy voted against the law Friday, along with others who hoped hopefuls Rebecca Long-Bailey, Keir Starmer, Clive Lewis and Emily Thornberry. However, the Labour MP for South Shields, Emma Lewell-Buck, said she would vote in favour of the bill and added: „The party opposite has a mandate they didn`t have before. After passing its second reading by a sovereign 358 votes to 234, the withdrawal agreement is on track to complete its adoption by both houses of Parliament in time for Brexit to take place at the end of January. On December 4, 2018, the government submitted an industry request to set the timetable for the useful vote, as requested in S13 (1) (b), with the vote scheduled for December 11, 2018.

[69] Two amendments were adopted. The Brady Amendment called on the government to renegotiate Northern Ireland`s backstop. It won 16 votes, backed by the Conservatives and the DUP against other parties in the House of Commons, but 7 Labour MPs backed it and eight Conservative MPs voted against. The Spelman-Dromey amendment expressed the desire of the House of Commons to avoid a Brexit without a deal. It received 8 votes, supported by all other parties except the Conservatives and the DUP, but with the support of 17 Conservative MPs. An amendment to pave the way for a binding law that would not prevent any agreement, the Cooper Boles amendment, failed by 23 votes.

About the author: